Home Gear Skier Responsibility Code Added Two New Rules, And Breaking Them Is Criminal...

Skier Responsibility Code Added Two New Rules, And Breaking Them Is Criminal In Colorado


Credit: FACEBOOK/Vail

Heads up Colorado skiers, the Skier Responsibility Code (officially titled ‘Your Responsibility Code’ by the National Ski Areas Association) recently added two new rules, and breaking them could result in criminal charges!

The code, which previously contained seven rules, now includes ten, with two added and one split into two. Rule six, which previously read “you shall keep off closed trails and observe all posted signs” is now rule six & seven, reading “read and obey all signs, warnings, and hazard markings,” and “keep off closed trails and out of closed areas.” Rules nine and ten were added in order to emphasize the importance not skiing/riding under the influence and to let mountain visitors know what to do in the case of a collision. The entire ‘Your Responsibility Code’ now reads as follows:

  1. “Always stay in control. You must be able to stop or avoid people or objects.
  2.  People ahead or downhill of you have the right-of-way. You must avoid them.
  3.  Stop only where you are visible from above and do not restrict traffic.
  4.  Look uphill and avoid others before starting downhill or entering a trail.
  5.  You must prevent runaway equipment.
  6.  Read and obey all signs, warnings, and hazard markings.
  7.  Keep off closed trails and out of closed areas.
  8.  You must know how and be able to load, ride and unload lifts safely. If you need assistance, ask the lift attendant.
  9.  Do not use lifts or terrain when impaired by alcohol or drugs.
  10.  If you are involved in a collision or incident, share your contact information with each other and a ski area employee.”

Credit: FACEBOOK/Eldora

Late last month, a snowboarder responsible for the death of Ron LeMaster was convicted for leaving the scene of accident, sentenced to pay $500 plus costs and complete 40 hours of community service. The snowboarder was not charged with manslaughter as prosecutors determined he was not riding recklessly or under the influence. According to The Gazette, violators of Colorado’s Ski Safety Act can face fines of up to $1000, on top of any other charges and civil penalties sought by the state (manslaughter in the case of a collision).

Make sure to follow the ‘Your Responsibility Code’ while you’re on the mountain! You don’t want to face charges from the Ski Safety Act, and you certainly don’t want to hurt anyone. And, if that’s not enough, it will keep you safe on the mountain! You’re putting yourself at a much greater risk of injury if you break these rules.

(Also, I know a lot of people like to drink and ski, and don’t get me wrong, a nice parking lot beer or lift beer is nice here and there, but skiing under the influence endangers you and everyone around you. Not only that, but it’s really annoying to have to deal with trying to dodge a load of drunk wackos who think they’re much better than they actually are. You look like a fool, Mr. College Student!)

Credit: FACEBOOK/Pine Creek Ski Resort

Featured Image Credit: Vail via Facebook

This article was originally published by Unofficialnetworks.com. Read the original article here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here