GB Freestyle Ski & Snowboard Squad Announced


New names join familiar faces in 2022-23 British Freestyle Ski & Snowboard Squad. It brings together some exciting ski and snowboard talent competing under the GB Snowsport banner. NEW

Reigning Snowboard Cross World Champion and Crystal Globe holder, Charlotte Bankes, is among the 52 athletes named in the British Freestyle Ski and Snowboard squad ahead of the start of the 2022-23 season.

Featuring athletes competing across seven disciplines, the squad also boasts 9 World Cup, World Championship and X Games podium holders.

One to watch is Mia Brookes, who is set to make her World Cup debut as part of the Freestyle “A” Squad.

She heads into the season off the back of a record of eight victories and one runner-up spot from nine competitions in the 2021/22 season as well as three ANZ competition wins in Perisher, Australia this summer.

“I can’t wait for the season to get started and to get going with all the other guys on the GB squad,” said Mia Brookes.

“The last couple of years have been insane, and this year’s a big opportunity for me to show the world what I can do.

“I’ve grown up seeing what Katie and Jamie have done for British snowboarding over the past few years, and training alongside them is pretty cool.”

Mia Brookes wins snowboard slopestyle Europa Cup in Leysin – photo GB Snowsport

She is joined by Beijing Olympian Katie Ormerod, Maisie Hill, Billy Cockrell, Jamie Nicholls and Fin Bremner in the Slopestyle/Big Air line-up.

It also includes Liam Tynan, Lenny Fenning, Charlie Lane, Teiva Hamaini, Amber Fennell, and Emily Rothney in the ‘B’ Squad.

Siddartha Ullah, meanwhile, takes a ‘B’ Squad spot as the sole member of the British Freestyle Snowboard Half Pipe line-up.

Matt McCormick, who has been an integral part of the Freestyle Snowboard squad since 2015, steps away from the World Class Programme squad environment owing to the effects of a long-lasting concussion.

Charlotte Bankes will compete alongside Maisie Potter and fellow Beijing Olympian Huw Nightingale in the Snowboard Cross World Cup Squad.

Charlotte Bankes – photo © PlanetSKI

The nine-person Ski Cross Squad will see World Cup Squad members Ollie Davies and Emma Peters joined by Tommy Dade, Scott Johns, Owen Johns, Gregory Baillie, Max Vaughton, Patrick Young, Alannah Lawrie, and Claire Winthrop in the Europa Cup Squad.

In a Freeski Slopestyle and Big Air ‘A’ Squad roster packed full of experience at the top of the sport.

James Woods – photo GB Snowsport

Beijing competitors James Woods, Katie Summerhayes and Kirsty Muir have been selected alongside 2018 Olympic medallist Izzy Atkin.

They are joined by Tyler Harding, Chris McCormick, James Pouch, Tom Greenway and Connie Brogden.

“Looking ahead it’s definitely going to be a busy season with a lot of contests in the calendar,” said Chris McCormick.

“It’s an exciting time with plenty of experience in the team as well as some new faces and we’re all stoked to show what British Freeskiing is capable of.”

Jasper Klein, Felix Klein, Justin Taylor-Tipton, Mason Ferebee, and Dylan Boyes make up the ‘B’ Squad.

Fresh from her Olympic debut in Beijing, Zoe Atkin is the sole Freeski Halfpipe ‘A’ Squad competitor for the coming season.

Sam Gaskin and Sam Ward both selected in the ‘B’ Squad.

Gus Kenworthy, whose final competition came in the Beijing Olympic Winter Games Halfpipe Final, leaves the Squad as one of the most iconic Freeskiers of all time, following confirmation of his retirement.

Gus Kenworthy, GB Park & Pipe

Gus Kenworthy. Image c/o GB Snowsport

In Moguls, a six-person World Cup Squad features Leonie, Makayla, and Tom Gerken Schofield with Will Feneley, Skyler Nunn, and Mateo Jeannesson rounding out the line-up.

A number of athletes named across the squads are included on provisional selection status, pending their ability to hit agreed criteria during the coming season.

“We’re really proud to name a Freestyle Squad with so many of the world’s biggest names in its ranks,” said the Head Coach, Pat Sharples.

“Our Freestyle skiers and boarders are some of the most exciting athletes in the world, and the blend of experience and emerging talent in the British ranks is something we know other nations really envy.

“Everyone selected in this year’s Squad should be really proud of themselves, and I’d like to particularly congratulate all the athletes selected for the first time this year.

“This is such an exciting time to be part of Britain’s Freestyle set-up and we can expect to see some huge performances over the next 10 months.”

Freeski – Slopestyle & Big Air
A Squad

Izzy Atkin
Connie Brogden
Tom Greenway
Tyler Harding
Chris McCormick
Kirsty Muir
James Pouch
Katie Summerhayes
James Woods

B Squad

Dylan Boyes
Mason Ferebee
Felix Klein
Jasper Klein
Justin Taylor-Tipton

Freeski – Half Pipe
A Squad

Zoe Atkin

B Squad

Sam Gaskin
Sam Ward

Freestyle Snowboard – Slopestyle & Big Air
A Squad

Fin Bremner
Mia Brookes
Billy Cockrell
Maisie Hill
Jamie Nicholls
Katie Ormerod

B Squad

Roahan Duncan
Amber Fennell
Lenny Fenning
Teiva Hamaini
Max Jorges
Charlie Lane
Euan Rogers
Emily Rothney
Liam Tynan

Freestyle Snowboard – Half Pipe
B Squad

Siddhartha Ullah

World Cup Squad

Will Feneley
Leonie Gerken Schofield
Makayla Gerken Schofield
Thomas Gerken Schofield
Mateo Jeannesson
Skyler Nunn

Ski Cross
World Cup Squad

Ollie Davies
Emma Peters
Europa Cup Squad

Gregory Baillie
Tommy Dade
Alannah Lawrie
Owen Johns
Scott Johns
Max Vaughton
Claire Winthrop*
Patrick Young*

Snowboard Cross
World Cup Squad

Charlotte Bankes
Huw Nightingale*
Maisie Potter*

*  Provisional selections pending meeting criteria by dates agreed by the Coaching team

Related Articles

Image c/o PlanetSKI

This article was originally published by Read the original article here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here